In 1998, a group of heads of girls’ schools met in Durban to discuss common interests and formed the girl’s schools interest group. From this informal group grew the formation of the South African Girls’ Schools Association (SAGSA) in 2001.

All public and independent girls’ schools are eligible to join. .The Association aims to provide information about girls’ only schools in South Africa and promote girls’ only education. Membership provides opportunities for debate, networking and support in the task of educating girls.

SAGSA Objectives

  • To provide a forum for constructive ideas relevant to the education of girls
  • To provide networking and support for colleagues
  • To provide a credible voice of educational expertise to comment on the effect of the curriculum on the teaching of girls
  • To foster the continuation and promote the relevance of girls’ schools in South Africa
  • To establish links with international associations of principals of girls’ schools


Tracey Megom
Parktown High School for Girls
Vice President
Dina Goncalves
Jeppe High School for Girls
Erica Hayes-Hill
Durban Girls’ High School
Alison Jennings
St Stithians Girls’ Preparatory
Additional Member
Ivanka Acquisto
St Andrew’s School for Girls